Creamy Pointed Peppers

This makes a great starter.  This recipe started when I once went to Pizza Hut and I got a starter of stuffed peppers and instead of being bell peppers it was a Ramiro and I liked the idea so I just went with it.  I don’t think I have ever made these the same way twice.

Serves 2 

2 Ramiro Peppers 

6 heaped tablespoons of creme fraiche 

1 lemon 

tablespoon smoked paprika 

2 slices bread made into bread crumbs 

parmesan cheese finely grated 

handful of grated cheese (I use a mature white chedder or a smoked cheese) 

 

  • chop pepper in half from stalk to tip, looks better if you have both halves with the stalk. 
  • place in a preheated oven for 5 minutes meanwhile in a bowl mix creme fraiche, juice of the lemon, smoked paprika mix it together add salt and black pepper to taste. 
  • Remove peppers from oven and spoon in mixture remembering to leave enough room for cheese and breadcrumbs 
  • Throw grated cheese on top  
  • mix parmesan and breadcrumbs together and sprinkle on top. 
  • Place in the oven for about 10 minutes or until cheese has melted and breadcrumbs have browned.

Variations 

Into the creme fraiche I have tried adding red onion, chopped chorizo and chopped bits of bacon. I have also made a blue cheese version using blue cheese instead of breadcrumbs (cos I didn’t have any) so you could still use breadcrumbs with blue cheese.  Next up is adding mushrooms fried in a garlic butter

For a spicy version throw chopped green chilli into the mix.

Leave a Reply

